A Week of Clinical Nutrition at Teay’s Valley Hospital

I am spending this entire week focusing on clinical nutrition and medical nutrition therapy at Teay’s Valley Hospital.  Teay’s Valley Hospital (TVH) is a small, 70-bed, rural hospital located in Hurricane, WV.  Associated with Charleston Area Medical Center, TVH is located about 25 minutes outside of downtown Charleston, WV.

I have had the opportunity to work with the on-staff registered dietitian. One of the biggest adjustments I have had to make is the transition from electronic charting to PAPER charting!  I have always been used to reading a patient’s medical record electronically, so the process of paper charting was completely Greek to me.  But I think it will be beneficial for me to experience how things are run in different types of  hospitals.  And the paper charting wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be…even though it sometimes felt like I was deciphering through hieroglyphics! 🙂

As the weeks of my clinical rotation roll by, I am slowly beginning to become familiar and comfortable with the daily roles and responsibilities of being a clinical dietitian. And thank goodness, because isn’t that the purpose of the dietetic internship?! Like they always say…practice, practice, practice!

Leave a Reply

